Saturday, October 29, 2011


If there was anything most telling about the Hip-Hop World Awards, now known as the Headies; it was not simply that it lived up to the hype or the beautiful gold plaque, it was more of the fact that Nigerian artistes have come of age. Held on Saturday, October 22, at the New Expo Hall of Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos, it featured a star studded line up of performing acts on a night of shining stars.
Like expensive football players trying to justify their huge transfer fees, almost every artiste billed to perform that night did so with the live band on stage; while the ones who performed with soundtracks tried to make up by delivering good vocals with the beats. Although Muna and Waje’s produced a not so inspiring performance of their hit song, So Inspired. Oleku crooner, Ice Prince Zamani, Olamide, M.I, Jah Bless and crew, Sound Sultan, legendary Sir Shina Peters, also rocked the stage. But if there were an award for best vocal delivery and stage dexterity that night, it could go to both Tiwa Savage and Omawumi; who performed their hit songs, Kele Kele Love and Na Who I go Ask respectively. Wizkid, who undoubtedly deserved his award for Next Rated, was the final act to perform and he didn’t let his teeming fans down with the rendition of popular tracks from his chart-topping debut album.

Tuface was the biggest winner of the night with three awards – Album of the Year, Artiste of the Year, Best R&B/Pop Album. Darey picked up two with Best R & B Single and Recording of the Year. Ice Prince Oleku won the Song of the Year, while Modenine picked the Best Lyricist on the Roll for the sixth time. M.I won Best Collabo for his song featuring Flavour N’Abania. Best Vocal Performance (male) went to Capital Femi, while Waje picked up the female version. Jahbless won the Best Street Hop for ‘Joor Oh’ (Remix)¸ while eLDee won the Best Conscious Song of the Year for his track One Day, while Dr Sid won Best Pop Single and the HipHop World Revelation of the Year. Producer of the Year went to Don Jazzy, while the Best Music Video Director went to Dj Tee for Olamide’s Eni Duro. Sir Shina Peters was also awarded the Special Recognition Award, while Wizkid, won the Next Rated award, which came with a brand new Hyundai Sonata.

Fans were also given the opportunity to pick their best artiste over the nine categories through an online an SMS voting process which started on August 15. Although the awards ceremony hosted by eLDee and Rita Dominic was delayed for three and a half hours, the organisers may be forgiven as they had no power over the earlier torrential downpour and the curfew until 4pm imposed by the Lagos State government because of the local government elections which held that same day.

No comments:

Post a Comment